New High Score

Analytics. Visualization. Data. Design. Marketing.

Omniture Care

with one comment

Listen up, big business. Here’s how.

I’ve been saying this to folks for a while now, but never put it down.

@OmnitureCare (or Ben Gaines, as some may know him) is an excellent example of how businesses can engage users and customers using the internet (from e-mail to twitter to forums) . I often recommend him as an example to some of my clients.

I’m sure there are other good examples out there, but this is one I end up seeing very often. He is super quick to respond to people’s cribs and queries on (i think) every major web analytics forum there is. ¬†At least, on all the ones that I am on. He even responded to a (very innocent) tweet this morning. I was just grumbling waiting for the report to load, given that it was taking long today.

Honestly, I’m not Omniture’s biggest fan – I find Google Analytics to be easier to use and more intuitive, but that’s just my opinion. YMMV. However, I have to use Omniture often because some of my clients use it, and it’s nice to have Ben on the networks, listening in, and jumping in when he feels he can contribute. I wager that he’s saved a lot of client attrition, though something like that would be hard to measure.

I think this is a great example of how a big corporation can spread some love and listen to the folks on the ground. Especially since, more often than not, everyone hates the big player. And that’s just natural.

It’s a simple lesson: listen.

Written by newhighscore

November 24, 2009 at 1:12 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for the kind words! We have found that technical support in 140 characters works wonderfully; we’re trying to be as “real-time” as our users’ decision making is. As a result, we’ve learned that listening really is a powerful (and too often forgotten) principle. Some of our best feedback has come via social media. I have very much enjoyed being a part of these efforts for the past 12 months!

    Ben Gaines
    Community Manager
    Omniture, an Adobe Company

    Ben Gaines

    November 25, 2009 at 2:57 am


Leave a Reply

