New High Score

Analytics. Visualization. Data. Design. Marketing.

Omniture Tip #14

with 2 comments

I realised that, with increasing use of Omniture for a client, I keep having to trawl the web and forums and email groups for questions about Omniture. This is compounded by the fact that the client doesn’t give me admin access, and I’ve had no formal Omniture training. It’s too costly, and I’ve found it hellish to find an Omniture help file which is useful in a hurry.

I need to put all the useful tips in one place now. That place is here.

We’re going to put up a promo website outside the client’s domain, and I was wondering what we have to do to use the normal tracking codes. I found this, which was the perfect answer:

If you have multiple domains or add your tracking code to third-party sites that do some of your hosting (such as for a promotional campaign, fundraiser or contest), make sure to specify these domains as internal within the Admin tab under Edit/General/Internal. If not, supposedly you’ll have some page names show up as “other” in the reports–in which case you’ll have to call Omniture to find out what those pages are. However, I had a case where I hadn’t identified a third party as an internal domain, yet the data came through fine; the senior implementation consultant who came to the class couldn’t explain this. Nevertheless, I’ll set the internal domains going forward.

Thank you Church Mojo.

Written by newhighscore

October 14, 2009 at 5:12 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you are looking for a place for help with SiteCatalyst, check out my blogs: http://blogs.omniture.com/author/agreco/ and http://www.the-omni-man.com

    Adam Greco

    October 17, 2009 at 12:16 am

    • I’ve been reading your blog for ages, Adam. It’s got so much material, it’s sometimes hard to parse when the shit’s going down!

      Jokes apart, you’re a great resource. Thanks.

      newhighscore

      November 10, 2009 at 2:20 pm


Leave a Reply

