New High Score

Analytics. Visualization. Data. Design. Marketing.

Is ‘Community’ The New ‘Search’?

leave a comment »

Mike Grehan thinks so, in a post from January 2009 (which got re-played on the column this week).

To quote:

If I go to any community and pose a question about anything, from a life-threatening disease to a new brand of toothpaste, I’ll get an answer. And that, without a shred of a doubt, is search. That is information retrieval in its purest sense.

It seems to be a strong idea, and I can find many examples from my own life. I bought a wireless router last week on a forum, and NOT from e-bay or a search engine. I ask for advice on my e-mail groups. I get phone tips from facebook or twitter.

I’m going to think about this for a while, but till then this seems like a very strong idea to me.

Written by newhighscore

August 25, 2009 at 10:53 am

Posted in Search Marketing

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

